July 2014

On 6th July the club saw the introduction of a new autocross venue at Hawea in an open flat gravel pit (thanks to those who sorted out this venue), it was a great to learn to control the cars in the long slide round the corners, everyone had a great deal of fun (see gallery).

On 26th July COMC had a big day with racing at Track C at Highlands, we saw some amazing new cars not seen at previous events (Radical SR3 and Lotus 7). Another popular event run by the club saw a big turn out of 45 drivers for this event (some entrants travelling from Oz, just for the event). Thanks to Dave and Co for a very well run event, we were able to get 5 runs in for the day.

Later that night we held our annual prize giving at the Nose Restaurant, after a wonderful Meal and drinks the following awards were giving (along with other prizes; See Gallery):

Class 1st 2nd 3rd
Class A (0-1600) Paul Keegan C Allison R Visser
Class B (1600-2000) S Gray H Smith M Harrsion
Class C (2000 +) G Galbraith & M Shand M Robinson
Class D (4WD) F How-johns S Taylor C MacAskill
Overall Winner Steve Gray
Rookie of the Year Matthew Owen
Most Improved Driver Terri Taylor
Top Junior Driver Simon Taylor